On Brussels Heritage Days 2020, delve into the history of the Eastman building.
Explore a special trail in EN/FR/NL highlighting key features inside and outside the museum and a video explanation by Belgian art restorer Isabelle Happart.
In 1933, George Eastman, the philanthropist who made photography available to all by inventing the Kodak portable camera, commissioned Swiss architect Michel Polak to build a dental clinic inBrussels. This made the city the latest in a string of locations — after Rochester, London, Rome, Paris and Stockholm — to have such an Eastman-funded facility. Polak, who was also behind the nearby Résidence Palace, designed the clinic as an imposing building with a restrained façade and a flat roof. Inside, a large entrance hall featuring attractive marble finishings afforded access to the offices and the children’s waiting-room, which was decorated with frescoes based on Jean de La Fontaine’s Fables painted by one of Polak’s friends, Camille Barthélémy. An artist from the Ardennes best known for his landscapes and village vistas, Barthélémy adorned the walls with charming images drawn from The Monkey and the Cat, The Fox and the Young Turkeys, The Two Goats and other tales. The bright, vibrant colours he used meant that his Art Deco compositions and their attractive depictions of animals really stood out for the viewer.
Click here to register for this activity: https://www.heritagedays.brussels/en/programme/brussels-extensions/house-of-european-history/